BTEC Children’s Play, Learning and Development


BTEC Nationals in Children’s Play Learning and Development use a combination of assessment styles to give students confidence they can apply their knowledge to succeed in the workplace and have the study skills to continue learning on higher education courses. The range of vocational assessments both practical and written mean students can showcase their learning and achievements to best effect when they take their next step, whether that’s supporting applications to higher education courses or potential employers

In Addition

You can choose a range of course sizes, each with a clear purpose supporting progression towards a career or further study. This means students can keep their options open and be confident they’re choosing the right course to suit their study programme. The new course content has been refined and updated so it better supports student progression, whether that’s into higher education or to employment.

BTEC Children’s Play, Learning and Development Students

  • Take responsibility for their own learning
  • Have practical experience from real world assignments
  • Develop Interpersonal and practical thinking skills
  • Have a strong core base of knowledge
  • Have real experience of effective teamwork
  • Know how to work to a brief with set deadlines
  • Efficiently manage time to complete tasks and processes

Entry Requirements

Please refer to the 2017 entry requirements

Course Structure

Level 3 Extended Children’s Play Learning and Development (equivalent to one A Level)

This course is made up of 4 units. 3 Mandatory Units and 1 Optional Unit

Unit 1.  Children’s Development – written exam

Unit 2.  Development of Children’s Communication, Literacy and Numeracy Skills – task set and marked externally

Unit 3. Play and Learning – internally set assignment


One optional unit (TBC) – internally set assignment

Level 3 Diploma Children’s Play Learning and Development (equivalent to 2 A Levels)

Total 10 units

10 Mandatory Units

  1. Children’s Development
  2. Development of Children’s Communication, Literacy and Numeracy Skills
  3. Play and Learning
  4. Keeping Children Safe
  5. Children’s Physical Development, Care and Health Needs
  6. Children’s Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  7. Working with Parents and Others in Early Years
  8. Observation, Assessment and Planning
  9. Reflective Practice
  10. The Early Years Foundation Stage

Moving On

BTEC Children’s Learning and Development is a widely recognised qualification enabling access to a variety of courses in higher education e.g. nursing, midwifery, teaching, social work. Students can also seek employment in the care and early year’s sectors.