Vocational Department

Members of Staff and Responsibilities

Mrs M Littleworth – Director of Learning
Mrs D Moore – Teacher of Health & Social Care and Childcare

KS4 Curriculum

BTEC Childrens Play Learning & Development

The subject covers the following topics:

  1. Patterns of Child Development: Learning about the difference between growth and development of children and what affects growth.
  2. Promoting Children’s Development Through Play: Finding out about the importance of play and how this helps a child develop.
  3. Principles of Early Years Practice: This includes ways of working that make children feel welcome and their needs are met.
How is this course assessed?

  1. Unit 1 is a one and a half hour written examination taken during the course.
  2. Unit 2 is a piece of coursework completed in Year 10 and Unit 3 coursework is completed in Year 11.

BTEC Level 2 Health and Social Care

Course content:  In this subject you will find out about the core care values, for example respect, dignity and safeguarding, that underpin all health work.  You will explore ways of applying these to different health and social care settings.  In health promotion you will investigate how this benefits individuals and the nation.  You will use this to produce your own health promotion campaign.  The examination unit on human lifespan and development explores the different life stages and anticipates many life events and how they impact on us.
How is this course assessed?

  1. You will complete 3 coursework tasks over the two years which will be based on real life situations and will assess you understanding of the topics covered.
  2. You will have 1 examination taken in February in year 11. It will last 1 hour and test your understanding of human lifespan and development.

KS5 Curriculum

BTEC Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in Health and Social Care

This two year qualification will give an understand of the underpinning knowledge and practical skills to provide learners with the common core principles of health and social care. This qualification will allow students to progress to employment or higher education.

The Subsidiary Diploma is a practical, work-related course. Assignments are based on realistic workplace situations, activities and demands. As well as learning about the employment area, you develop the skills you need to start a career. This qualification is equivalent to one A level.

Students will study the following units:

  • Unit 1: Developing Effective Communication in Health and Social Care.
  • Unit 2: Equality, Diversity and Security in Health and Social Care.
  • Unit 3: Health, Safety and Security in Health and Social Care.
  • Unit 4: Development through the Life Stages.
  • Unit 20: Promoting Health Education
  • Unit 21: Nutrition for Health and Social Care

For more information see: http://www.edexcel.com/quals/nationals10/hsc/Pages/default.aspx